About the provider

Since its founding in 1883, the University of Auckland has grown to become New Zealand's flagship, research-led university, known for the excellence of its teaching, its research, and its service to local, national and international communities.

The university has more than 40,000 students of whom 11,000 are postgraduate and 6,000 are international. The University of Auckland's research programmes range across all disciplines and are world leaders in such fields as cancer drug development, inductive (wireless) power transfer and computational physiology.

As the university looks to the future one thing is certain - knowledge will be a key resource and will be highly sought-after within New Zealand and around the world. The university's challenge is to help to generate ideas that will benefit society, and to educate and train people to work in fields where they will be valued both for their specialised knowledge, and for their ability to research, communicate and solve problems.



City Campus

The City Campus is right in the heart of Auckland. You are within walking distance of all the main cultural, entertainment and commercial hubs. Harbour views and Albert Park add to the appeal. The campus has a full range of amenities including cafes, health services, libraries, childcare facilities and a recreation centre.

Tāmaki Innovation Campus

The Tāmaki Innovation Campus is located in the east Auckland suburb of St Johns. It is predominantly a postgraduate campus with courses in biosecurity, exercise sciences, population health and speech science. There are also public clinics where students gain practical experience and valuable community services are provided.

Newmarket Campus

This is a new five-hectare campus adjacent to the major business area in Newmarket. It will provide the University with a site for expansion over the next 50 years. The faculties of Engineering and Science occupy the first of the new facilities.

Epsom Campus

This is the main Faculty of Education campus. Based at 74 Epsom Avenue, the Epsom Campus offers programmes in teacher education and social services. This faculty comprises the University's former School of Education, and the former Auckland College of Education. The campus is less than 10 minutes' drive from the CBD and City Campus. It offers full amenities, including ample parking, leisure facilities, and the Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library – one of the most extensive teacher education libraries in the country.

Grafton Campus

Originally established as the School of Medicine, the Grafton Campus (opposite Auckland Hospital on the boundary of Auckland Domain) houses much of the faculty including a café, health services, and the Philson Library. The School of Medicine has its largest campus at Auckland City Hospital and is also spread throughout the North Island at various campuses and sites. It’s also home to the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, plus the Department of Optometry and Vision Science. Other departments have premises at Auckland, Starship, North Shore, Middlemore and Waikato Hospitals. The School of Population Health occupies a large complex at Tāmaki Innovation Campus.

Tai Tokerau Campus

The Tai Tokerau Campus provides a range of foundation and teaching programmes, in primary and Māori medium teaching, for those living in Northland.

Leigh Marine Laboratory

The Leigh Marine Laboratory is based on the northeast coast of New Zealand, about 100km north of Auckland. With easy access to a wide range of unspoiled marine habitats, it’s been dubbed the ‘marine campus’ of the University of Auckland. The campus provides opportunities for postgraduate teaching and research at the Goat Island Marine Reserve, near Warkworth.

Manukau Institute of Technology Campus

The University of Auckland and Manukau Institute of Technology's Otara Campus formed an academic partnership in 1999. The aim was to provide students in the greater Manukau area with a wider range of high quality educational opportunities. The University of Auckland at Manukau Institute of Technology's Otara Campus currently offers Faculty of Education and Social Work programmes in addition to selected postgraduate courses.

Waitemata Health Campus

The Waitemata Health Campus is a division of the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences and provides clinical teaching and research for undergraduate and postgraduate medical students. Two hospital campuses are used for teaching and clinical training: North Shore Hospital Waitakere Hospital

Freemasons’ Department of Geriatric Medicine

This is located on the North Shore Hospital site. It is an academic section of the Department of Medicine (in the Faculty of Medicine) which carries out research and teaching relating to the health and clinical care of older people.

South Auckland Clinical Campus

The South Auckland Clinical Campus (SACC) is based at Middlemore Hospital and the Counties Manukau District Health Board. It offers training in areas of specific relevance to the South Auckland population, including diabetes and renal disease, trauma and orthopaedic complications, psychiatric illness and substance abuse. SACC is highly popular with students and takes approximately one quarter of all students of the School of Medicine for their clinical years. Formal and informal educational opportunities are strengths of SACC. With a diverse local population, students in South Auckland have clinical opportunities not available elsewhere. SACC has research in Perioperative Care, Medical Education, General Surgery, Women’s and Children’s Health, Plastic Surgery, Integrated Care, Orthopaedics and General Medicine.

Waikato Clinical School

This is an academic division of the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences and provides clinical teaching and research for undergraduates and postgraduate medical and allied health science students.

Do you want to make updates?
Sign up to become an admin of your profile and make updates with StudySpy's free and easy to use admin portal.

Sign up & edit